Kozumikku Sandā - Interview #2 | Maurice Perkins

Hello Readers

I’ve decided to release my Interviews on a few different platforms as part of an experiment to see where they attract the most authentic interactions.

Hope you enjoy this ride.

cosmicTaryn

Please introduce yourself to Kozumikku Sandā readers.

Hi, my name is Maurice Perkins, but I am also known as Moz or Mo. I served for six years in the Royal Navy before employment in civvy street at first in control room handling public emergency calls and then onto Metrolink, the tram system in Manchester. I started as a Senior Controller and left there as Operations Director. I spent five years as consultant with an engineering company before moving to a construction company as Technical Services Director. I retired at the end of 2018 and started writing in 2020. I have enjoyed a varied and very interesting career that has taken me to many different parts of the world, in the military and as a civilian.

Now tell us about your book/s.

I have written five books, four of which have been published, the fifth is currently going through the editing process.

The first three books are my life told in a series of funny stories and observations under the title “Born in Stockport – Grew up in the Royal Navy”. Raw, gritty real-life memoirs. I was a troubled teenager, and the navy was my saving. I was a bit of a rascal in the mob and did get into quite a bit of trouble, but I do have a zest for life. All of which comes through in the books.

The fourth book is my first novel called “Quest” and is a post-apocalyptic survival thriller with a science fiction twist. In a post pandemic world decimated by world wars and regional fighting, survival is a tenuous thing. A motley group are making their way west seeking answers and beset by challenges. Fighting for resources and a place to live.

I have written my second novel, a very dark comedy thriller called “Revenge” set in the tough city of Manchester, England. What happens when the good intentions of some ex-armed forces people interact with a gang turf war. It leads to violence and reprisals.

I also write articles in several local magazines, where I share my life observations interspersed with elements or extracts from my books. The editor is relaxed about me using them as a platform to market my books.

Has writing and publishing a book changed the way you see yourself?

Yes, it has. Writing my memoirs was a cathartic experience, as it contains sadness as well as hilarity. Writing has also opened my imagination again and certainly helped me share my creativity.

Do you think someone could be a writer if they don’t feel emotions strongly?

Yes. Not every book needs strong emotions to write. Non-fiction for instance in terms of technical or historical accounts, where more analysis is needed than emotion.

At what point do you think someone should call themselves a writer?

I think that I only considered myself to be a writer when people, other than my family and friends bought and read my books. It was quite joyous when it first happened and still amazes me that strangers buy and read my books.

What’s your favorite writing snack or drink?

I love drinking strong tea when I write. A glass of wine or a beer comes in second best, but I do find it relaxes me and enables me to be creative. I rarely snack when writing.

What are some of the common mistakes aspiring writers make when starting out?

My biggest mistake was poor self-editing. I had to un-publish my memoirs, edit and re-upload them. My mantra today is edit, edit, edit. I also now use the services of a professional editor.

Another mistake is trying to write every paragraph every chapter perfect first time. I think that stunts creativity. My approach now is to download my thoughts as quickly as possible, regardless of spelling or grammar, as that can be picked up in editing. Let the creative juices flow is my advice and worry about formatting, comprehension and story-line thread later.

How do you use social media as an author?

Constantly. As an independent author without the support of a publisher, I need to market my books in as smart a way as I can.

I use Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and LinkedIn as my preferred social media platforms.

I have a good sense of humour and I do find fun in many different aspects of life. Some I write myself, mostly I copy and paste. I share that humour across all my social media platforms in between marketing my books.

Are there any books that have influenced the way you write?

Several. Frank Herbert’s “Dune” for one and Lee Childs “Reacher” stories. Two completely different styles but they have influenced me, in the way that I write. I was also a big fan of Isaac Asimov, who has another different style but one that has impacted me to share the “image” I can see.

Outside of writing what else piques your interest?

I enjoy socializing with my family and friends, telling stories, funny jokes, and sharing experiences. I use that in the voluntary work I do with veterans in my hometown and across Greater Manchester. Away from that I like to play computer games.

Off the top of your head, who would you give a shoutout to?

Are you on social media and where can your fans interact with you?

So… what’s next for you in 2022?

I am currently working through the editing of “Revenge” and compiling some more funny experiences that did not make their way into my memoirs. I may publish as a short addendum but almost certainly under a different title.

I continue to write articles for local magazines where I share my humorous observations on life in general.

I am considering turning my three books of memoirs into audio books where I will narrate my own stories. I am researching the right audio recording set up that would work for me.